Louise Sylvan appointed Chair of EWON Board

The EWON Board has announced that Mr Tony Crawford’s term as Chair
expires on 30 September 2024. The Board and Ombudsman would like to thank Tony for his very significant contribution to EWON’s governance and strategy since October 2018.

Following an independent search process, the Board is pleased to announce that Ms Louise Sylvan AM FAICD has been appointed Chair from 1 October 2024.  Louise will bring strong governance experience to the board as well as deep knowledge of the energy sector. 

Louise is currently Chair of the RACE for 2030 Co-operation Research Centre, Adjunct Professor University of Sydney, School of Medicine, School of Public Health, and non-Executive Director of The Australian Centre for Social Innovation. Previous roles include Chair of Energy Consumers Australia, Commissioner of the Productivity Commission and Deputy Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.  She also conducted the Review of Financial Counselling Services in Australia (Sylvan Review) in response to the Hayne Royal Commission.

Louise said it is a great pleasure to be joining EWON as Chair. 

"I'm looking forward to working with EWON's committed board members to support the Ombudsman and her staff in addressing energy and water consumer complaints with integrity and impartiality”.

As we farewell Tony, we look forward to welcoming Louise later in the year.